Lake Superior College

Nursing
Health Databases
Access these databases from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.

Alt HealthWatch
Full text for more than 180 international (often peer-reviewed journals and reports) on alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
A core research tool for nursing and allied health that contains full text for more than 760 journals and indexing for more than 5,000 journals.
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Access to consumer health information such as cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's and women's health. Nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines such as Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Shape, Vegetarian Times.
Access to 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines including nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

PubMed  |  View tutorials
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's premiere search system for health information with over 27 million citations. 
Journals and Magazines
Online
AANA Journal
ABNF Journal
Acta Oncologica** (UK)
American Journal of Critical Care
American Journal of Public Health
American Nurse
Annals of Family Medicine
Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal (Australia)
BMC Nursing+
British Journal of Nursing (UK)
Clinical Advisor
Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing*
Comprehensive Child & Adolescent Nursing**

Critical Care & Shock
Critical Care Nurse
Critical Journal of Oncology Nursing*
H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks
Health Care for Women International** (UK)
Infectious Diseases** (UK)

Insight
InterAction
International Archives of Integrated Medicine (India)
International Journal of Nursing Practice* (UK)
International Nursing Review* (UK)
Journal of Advanced Nursing* (UK)
Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine*

Journal of Clinical Nursing* (UK)
Journal of Community Nursing (UK)
Journal of Interprofessional Care** (UK)
Journal of Nursing Management* (UK)
Journal of Specialized Nursing Care (Brazil)
Journal of Women's Health*
Maternal & Child Health Journal* (Germany)
Med-Surg Matters
Medical Teacher** (UK)
Mental Health Nursing (UK)
Medsurg Nursing
Microbial Ecology in Health & Disease (Sweden)
Military Medicine
Modern Healthcare (3 day delay due to publisher restrictions)
Mortality** (UK)
Nation's Health

National Nurse
Nephrology Nursing Journal

Nursing Ethics
Nursing Forum* (UK)
Nursing in Critical Care* (UK)
Nursing Inquiry* (UK)
Nursing Philosophy* (UK)
Nursing Reports+
Nursing Research and Practice (UK)
Oncology Nursing Forum*
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
ONS Connect (2007-2016) 
ONS Voice* (2017-present)
Pediatric Nephrology* (Germany)
Pediatric Nursing
Practice Nurse (UK)
Scandinavian Journal of Infectious Diseases** (UK)
Scandinavian Journal of Primary Health Care (UK)
Urologic Nursing
Urology Times
Weekly Epidemiological Record (WHO)
 
  Print
American Journal of Nursing
Minority Nurse

Nursing
  *12 month delay due to publisher restrictions
**18 month delay due to publisher restrictions
+Open Access / Open Source
Teaching | Simulations | Education
  Access electronic books from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
TEACHING
Affective Teaching in Nursing: Connecting to Feelings, Values, and Inner Awareness (eBook)
Assignments and Evaluating with Rubrics (eBook)
Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing (4th ed.)
Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions (eBook)
Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Designing and Integrating a Disaster Preparedness Curriculum (eBook)
Developing Online Learning Environments in Nursing Education (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Distance Education in Nursing (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Educating Health Professionals: Becoming a Universityi Teacher (eBook)
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education (eBook, 4th ed.)
Evaluation Beyond Exams in Nursing Education: Designing Assignments and Evaluating with Rubrics (eBook)
Fun Facts for Curriculum Development in Nursing: How to Develop & Evaluate Educational Programs in a Nutshell (eBook)
Guide to Best Practice in Teaching, Evaluation and Curriculum Development (eBook)
Introduction to Quality and Safety Education for Nurses: Core Competencies
New Nurse Educator: Mastering Academe (eBook)
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care: Inquiry, Action, and Innovation (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty
Teaching in Nursing and the Role of the Educator: The Complete Guide to Best Practice in Teaching, Evaluation and Curriculum Development (eBook)
Transcultural Nursing Education Strategies (book and eBook)
You CAN Teach Advanced Med-Surg Nursing!: The Authoritative Guide and Toolkit for the Advanced Medical-Surgical Nursing Clinical Instructor (eBook)
You CAN Teach Med-Surg Nursing!: The Authoritative Guide and Toolkit for the Medical-Surgical Nursing Clinical Instructor (eBook)

SIMULATIONS
Building a Culture of Patient Safety Through Simulation: An Interprofessional Learning Model (eBook)
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs (Book and eBook)
Game-Based Teaching and Simulation in Nursing and Health Care (eBook)
Mastering Simulation: A Handbook for Success (eBook)
NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory
Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators: Making It Real (eBook, 2nd ed.)

 
Research and Writing
  Access electronic books from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
RESEARCH
Anatomy of Research for Nurses (eBook)
Building and Sustaining a Hospital-Based Nursing Research Program (eBook)
Developing a Program of Research in Nursing (eBook)
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research
Generating Middle Range Theory: From Evidence to Practice (eBook)
Middle Range Theory for Nursing (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research
New Developments in Nursing Education Research (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Data Analysis: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Ethnography: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Grounded Theory: Qualitative Designs and Methods (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Historical Methods: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Life History: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBook)
Nursing Research Using Participatory Action Research: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBooks)
Nursing Research Using Phenomenology: Qualitative Designs and Methods in Nursing (eBook)
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses: From Evidence to Practice (eBook, 2nd ed.)
Scholarly Inquiry and the DNP Capstone (eBook)
Statistics for Advanced Practice Nurses and Health Professionals (eBook)
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice: Making Nursing Knowledge Development Explicit (eBook)

WRITING
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses (eBook, 2nd ed.)
A Beginner's Guide to Critical Thinking and Writing in Health and Social Care (eBook, 2nd ed.)
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing Your Dissertation or Capstone (eBook)
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects (eBook)
Writing for Publication in Nursing (eBook, 3rd ed.)
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Health Care Professionals (eBook)
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
Here's a link to our catalog! Nursing
RT: Nursing
R: Medicine
H: Social Science
Related Guides
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912


Powered by SubjectsPlus