Lake Superior College

Medical Assisting
Health Databases
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990
CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A consumer health database which includes drug information, health dictionaries & encyclopedias, articles, and other resources. The database provides references, full-text articles from health and medical journals and pamphlets to help users find answers to health and medical questions.
Health Source Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
National Library of Medicine Unrestricted Resource
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics.
PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 4,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
 
Web Sites
American Association for Respiratory Care Unrestricted Resource
Organization website for the American Association for Respiratory Care includes numerous links to professional news and resources.
American Association of Medical Assistants Unrestricted Resource
The CMA (AAMA) credential designates a medical assistant who has achieved certification through the Certifying Board of the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA).
AHA Advanced Cardiac Life Support Quizzes Unrestricted Resource
Quizzes are an important part of preparing for ACLS examination and an effective way to learn different concepts, techniques and theory. As a free resource for our visitors, we have put together a practice quiz for each of the main AHA Advanced Cardiac Life Support cases.
American Nurses Association Unrestricted Resource
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent member nurses associations, its organizational affiliates, and its workforce advocacy affiliate, the Center for American Nurses. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
American Society for Reproductive Medicine Unrestricted Resource
The Vision of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) is to be the nationally and internationally recognized leader for multidisciplinary information, education, advocacy and standards in the field of reproductive medicine. The ASRM is a non-profit organization whose members must demonstrate the high ethical principles of the medical profession, evince an interest in infertility, reproductive medicine and biology, and adhere to the objectives of the Society.
E-Medical Assistants Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
E-Medical Assistants is a website that mainly provides information on medical assisting scholarships, training programs, certification and accredited schooling across the nation. 
Emergency Nurses Association Unrestricted Resource
Originally aimed at teaching and networking, the organization has evolved into an authority, advocate, lobbyist, and voice for emergency nursing. ENA has  40,000+ members and continues to grow, with members representing over 35 countries around the world.
National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Unrestricted Resource
The NREMT's mission is to serve as the National EMS Certification organization by providing a valid, uniform process to assess the knowledge and skills required for competent practice by EMS professionals throughout their careers and by maintaining a registry of certification status.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Public Health Corps Unrestricted Resource
Public health is only effective if the public can actually access and discern what information is reliable.  But given how much information and how many ‘sources’ are out there, how can you decide who’s the authority? That’s where we come in.
Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
Medical Assistant Restricted Resource Resource contains video
If you're interested in an entry-level healthcare job that balances clinical duties with administrative functions, becoming a certified medical assistant may be for you. This video examines a CMA’s typical responsibilities, such as maintaining patient records, managing a physician’s schedule, and preparing examining rooms, as well as the skills a successful medical assistant will need—including data entry, customer service, specimen collection, and first aid. Incorporating interviews with experienced medical assistants and the specialists who train them, the program describes what it takes to become a CMA, from the best high school courses to take to passing the AAMA CMA certification exam. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide containing additional material—including student activities, discussion questions, vocabulary terms, and fast facts—is available online. Correlates to national and state board certification standards. A Meridian Production. (20 minutes)
Books and eBooks
Broadribb's introductory pediatric nursing
Print Location: LSC Library MAIN, Call No. RJ245 .B764 2008
A helpful guide for pediatric nursing.
Comfort touch : massage for the elderly and the ill
Print Location: LSC Library MAIN RM721 .R82 2010
A book detailing massage for elederly and ill patients.
Handbook of nonprescription drugs : an interactive approach to self-care
Print Location: LSC Library REFERENCE, Call No. RM671.A1 H36 2012
Thoroughly updated and revised, the Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs: An Interactive Approach to Self-Care provides accessible information on nonprescription drug pharmacotherapy, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary and alternative therapies. The 17th edition helps students and practitioners develop problem-solving skills needed to assess and triage a pharmacy patient s medical complaints. It provides Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved dosing information and evidence-based research on the efficacy and safety of over-the-counter (OTC) and herbal medications.
Introductory medical-surgical nursing
Print Location: MAIN RT41 .S38 2010
The Tenth Edition of this best-selling text for LPN/LVN students provides comprehensive coverage of introductory medical-surgical nursing in a highly visual and easy to understand manner. This content equips readers with the practical knowledge and skills to manage nursing care of clients in today's changing healthcare environments and eases the transition from classroom to clinical practice. The text has been updated to reflect the latest equipment and trends in health care, and includes hundreds of new full-color illustrations and photographs.
Law, Liability, and Ethics for Medical Office Professionals
Print Location: LSC Library MAINKF2905 .F58 2011
Designed to provide a foundation of law and ethics, Law, Liability, and Ethics for Medical Office Personnel applies these concepts to real-life situations in the health care environment. Case studies from actual legal procedures illustrate key points of law as well as ethical dilemmas faced in the medical office. This book helps medical assisting students interact with the legal profession, recognize when they need legal advice, and protect their future employers from medical malpractice complaints.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' medical assisting exam review for CMA, RMA & CMAS certification
Print Location: LSC Library MAIN, Call No. R728.8 .H68 2012
This review guide prepares medical assisting students for successfully passing a national medical assisting certification exam (CMA, RMA, and CMAS exams). This text is comprehensive, focuses on engagement, and is written in a concise style that infuses humor and motivational strategies. The book first helps the user identify areas of strength and weakness, then guides the user through developing a study plan. Following this, practice exams included in the ancillary suite will help students assess their progress and continue working toward success on the exam.  
Medical Assistant Exam Review
Print Location: LSC Library MAIN, Call No. R728.8 .M323 2010
Medical Assistant Exam Review provides targeted review and practice for the Certified Medical Assistant and Registered Medical Assistant exams, as well as a guide to the certification process
Medical Law, Ethics & Bioethics for the Health Professions
Print Location: LSC Library MAIN, Call No. KF3821 .L485 2012
This groundbreaking book continues to champion the “Have a Care” approach, while also providing readers with a strong ethical and legal foundation that enables them to better serve their clients. The book addresses all major issues facing healthcare professionals today, including legal concerns, important ethical issues, and the emerging area of bioethics.
Professionalism in Health Care: A Primer for Career Success
Print Location: LSC Library MAINR725.5 .M35 2009
Regardless of job title or discipline, every health care student and worker must understand the importance of professionalism. Hands-on technical skills remain a high priority in health care, but good character, a strong work ethic, sound personal traits, and appropriate behaviors are becoming more important than ever before. This text presents these topics in an interactive format and is a resource for aspiring health care professionals of all kinds.
 
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Related Guides
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
R: Medicine
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
American Journal of Nursing
Print Location: Library PERIODICALS Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
LIBRARY RETAINS CURRENT 10 YEARS. Indexed in Ebsco Academic Search Premier.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus