Lake Superior College

Legal Studies
Business Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
InfoTrac's largest index and full text collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and news service articles from all areas of academic and general interest research. Use this database for research in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and current events.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues.
 
News Databases
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.
 
Streaming Video
Borderless: The Lives of Undocumented Workers Restricted Resource Resource contains video
How much do American and Canadian citizens really understand about the personal, social, and economic struggles of undocumented workers? This program deepens that understanding, providing an intimate look inside the lives of two non-status migrant laborers. Geraldo, a Costa Rican construction worker, and Angela, a Caribbean domestic employee, describe their experiences with labor exploitation and restrictive immigration laws, as well as their separation from children and family—poignantly conveyed through telephone calls home. Humanizing an often-invisible workforce, the program exposes some of the hidden costs of sustaining the “first world” economy.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
Books and eBooks
Black's Law Dictionary, Pocket Edition
Print Location: LSC Library REFERENCEKF156 .B532 2011
Includes pronunciation guide and the complete United States Constitution.
Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America
Print Location: LSC Library MAINKF224.G76 K56 2012
Chronicles a little-known court case in which Thurgood Marshall successfully saved a black citrus worker from the electric chair after the worker was accused of raping a white woman with three other black men. In 1949, Florida's orange industry was booming with cheap Jim Crow labor. When a white seventeen-year-old Groveland girl cried rape, vicious Sheriff McCall was fast on the trail of four young blacks who dared to envision a future for themselves. Then the Ku Klux Klan rolled into town, burning homes and chasing hundreds of blacks into the swamps. So began the chain of events that would bring Thurgood Marshall, the man known as "Mr. Civil Rights," into the fray. Associates thought it was suicidal for him to wade into the "Florida Terror" at a time when he was irreplaceable to the burgeoning civil rights movement, but the lawyer would not shrink from the fight--not after the Klan had murdered one of Marshall's NAACP associates and Marshall had endured threats that he would be next. Drawing on a wealth of never-before-published material, including the FBI's unredacted Groveland case files, as well as the NAACP's Legal Defense Fund files, King shines new light on this remarkable civil rights crusader against a heroic backdrop.--From publisher description.
Legal Writing in Plain English: A Text With Exercises
Print Location: KF250 .G373 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
In this new edition, Garner preserves the successful structure of the original while adjusting the content to make it even more classroom-friendly. He includes case examples from the past decade and addresses the widespread use of legal documents in electronic formats. His book remains the standard guide for producing the jargon-free language that clients demand and courts reward.
Web Sites
Data.gov Unrestricted Resource
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Although the initial launch of Data.gov provides a limited portion of the rich variety of Federal datasets presently available, we invite you to actively participate in shaping the future of Data.gov by suggesting additional datasets and site enhancements to provide seamless access and use of your Federal data. Visit today with us, but come back often. With your help, Data.gov will continue to grow and change in the weeks, months, and years ahead.
Legal Information Institute Unrestricted Resource
Legal Information Institute is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School.
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library: Criminal Justice Unrestricted Resource
This site contains links to Minnesota criminal justice online resources including crime records and reports.
MPR: Minnesota Legislature Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota Public Radio's Legislative site.
National Institute of Corrections Unrestricted Resource
About the Corrections Community. They manage and support a community for corrections professionals to share information, ask questions, and work together online.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Resources on Minnesota Issues Unrestricted Resource
This site is compiled by staff at the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library on a topic of interest to Minnesota legislators. It is designed to provide an introduction to the topic, directing the user to a variety of sources. Many of the materials listed are available for download in PDF format from the Legislative Reference Library.
U.S. Department of Justice - Bureau of Justice Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This U.S. Department of Justice website provides statistical data on a variety of crime related topics including victims, courts, corrections and sentencing.
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Unrestricted Resource
FBI's crime statistic for the United States
St. Louis County Law Library Unrestricted Resource
The St. Louis County Law Library provides residents of St. Louis County with an in-depth legal collection of books and on-line services that include state and federal informaiton. Law libraries are located in each of the Courthouses in St. Louis County.  
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Related Guides
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
K: Law
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus