Lake Superior College

History
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences.
Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem History provides online access to a selection of history reference works such as Great Lives from History, The Seventies in America, and Milestone Documents.
News Databases
Missouri Digital Heritage Unrestricted Resource
Missouri Digital Heritage contains a number of Missouri newspapers including the Border Star Newspaper [also Weekly Border Star] (1858-1860), Liberty Tribune (from Clay County, MO; roughly 1846-1883), intermittent issues of Rolla New Era (1880-1897), St. Louis Christian Advocate (1857-1879), and a newspaper considered the most widely-read morning paper in St. Louis, the St. Louis Globe Democrat Images.
Atlanta Historic Newspaper Archive Unrestricted Resource
The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1847-1922 and includes the following numerous titles.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource
Chronicling America is a website that allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Note: 1860 - 1922
ProQuest Historical Minneapolis Tribune Restricted Resource
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.
Winona Newspaper Project Unrestricted Resource
NOTE: Only opens in Google Chrome! Darrell W. Krueger Library at Winona State University offers an online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona newspapers. This archive includes available issues of the Winona Argus, the Winona Daily Republican and the Winona Republican Herald. The archive includes issues through 1960 and over 150,000 pages of text.
Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
American History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,248 titles, equaling approximately 1,031 hours.
Ancient Greece Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Whether looking at Western language, history, or institutions, no other civilization has so greatly influenced our contemporary world. This program re-creates the Greek world, from the morning market to the evening symposiums, from burial rituals to the Olympics. Beginning with Homer’s account of the Trojan War, this program explores Greek civilization using 3-D re-creations of the Parthenon and Agora, maps, and commentary by scholars to provide insight into the daily lives of Greek citizens.
Ancient Rome Restricted Resource Resource contains video
At its zenith, the Roman Empire included North Africa, Spain, France, and Britain. The wealth that these conquests generated allowed Roman citizens to live in a sumptuous world of beautifully decorated homes and opulent cities. In this program, scholars discuss Roman unification of Europe, Roman culture and institutions, and the family structure. The role of the army as a major force in Roman society and politics, along with its military structure and tactics, are discussed. The Christianization of Rome and the enduring legacy of Roman Law and institutions in Western government today are also analyzed. 3-D re-creations of the Coliseum and Pompeii allow students to see Rome as it was before the empire collapsed.
Antigone Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Antigone is perhaps the most easily accessible of all the great classical tragedies, its theme clear and up-to-date: the conflict between moral and political law. Now the tale of Oedipus and his family comes to its end—he, his wife Jocasta, his sons, and now, at the last, his daughter, all dead. Antigone is not the only victim in the play; Creon too comes to a tragic downfall—although he repents in time, bureaucratic ritual results in the deaths of Creon's son and wife, burdening him with guilt as well as grief. With Juliet Stevenson, John Shrapnel, and John Gielgud.
Bankers, Builders, and New Beginnings Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This program illustrates life from the perspective of the medieval merchant: urban, financially sophisticated, and revolving around trade and travel. Demonstrating how the growth of European cities prefaced the end of feudal society and the founding of major universities—while unfortunately enabling the spread of the Black Plague—the program reveals surprising facts regarding city planning, banking practices, cartography, and the skyscrapers of the Middle Ages, cathedrals. In essence, a new civilization emerges in this final episode of Europe in the Middle Ages, due in part to the creation of urban centers as bases for global exploration and conquest. Portions are in other languages with English subtitles.
Bill Moyers Journal: Body of War Restricted Resource Resource contains video
As the Iraq War enters its sixth year, American military casualties have reached approximately 34,000 dead and wounded. "But numbers aren't personal," says Bill Moyers. "The only way truly to understand the human cost of this war is to know someone who is bearing it." In this edition of the Journal, Moyers interviews iconic talk show host Phil Donahue and award-winning documentarian Ellen Spiro on their film Body of War, an intimate portrait of Tomas Young-a young man who joined the Army to fight in Afghanistan, was deployed instead to Iraq, and was shot and paralyzed from the mid-chest down on his fifth day in-country. Extensive excerpts from the documentary are included. Broadcast dates: March 21, 2008, and May 30, 2008.
Bill of Rights Restricted Resource Resource contains video
It upholds freedom of speech and religion, guarantees a free press, grants the right to keep and bear arms, preserves the right of trial by jury, establishes states’ rights, and more. It’s the Bill of Rights. This program presents the ten key Constitutional amendments that have defined the fundamental liberties that are the American birthright—and examines the controversies and challenges they have withstood.
Birth and death life cycle of language Restricted Resource Resource contains video
It is predicted that within a century more than half of the world’s languages will become extinct, but as languages are lost, new ones emerge naturally or are constructed. In this program, Noam Chomsky; Esperantist Thomas Eccard; endangered languages researcher Peter Ladefoged, who has since passed away; and others provide insights into the language life cycle. Topics include constructed languages such as Esperanto, language endangerment and preservation, and the role of globalization in language obsolescence. The experts also discuss current language trends and offer their opinions on which languages may emerge as front-runners of the future
Cataclysm: The Black Death Visits Tuscany Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Until 1348, people in Sienna and Florence enjoyed the richest, safest, and most comfortable lives in their history. But almost overnight, their certainty of life—and even any hope of a good death—was gone. This program assesses the aftermath of the ferocious damage unleashed by the bubonic plague on the two city-states. Historians Alexander Nagel and Nicholas Terpstra, from the University of Toronto, and professional artisans—chief among them, sculptor Marcello del Colle, from Opera del Duomo—comment on how dazzling works of architecture went unfinished, artisans became more intrigued with the divine world than the natural, and how from the ashes a new spiritual inquiry would spring, paving the way for the High Renaissance.
Conquest of Mexico
Print Location: LSC Library FMG DIGITAL VIDEO Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This program provides a portrait of Cortez and his world—the real world and the imaginary one painted by theologians, mystics, imaginative travelers, poets, and liars; of the New World as seen by a small number of Spaniards; and of the civilizations of Mesoamerica before they were "discovered"—the world of the Mayas and Aztecs, the nature of Aztec religion and politics. It describes the Battle of Mexico and explains how and why Montezuma lost—and why, today still, the descendants of the Aztecs speak Nahuatl.
Books and eBooks
Black Count
Print Location: LSC Library MAINDC146.D83 R46 2012
  Explores the life and career of Thomas Alexandre Dumas, a man almost unknown today, but whose swashbuckling exploits appear in The three musketeers and whose trials and triumphs inspired The count of Monte Cristo.

Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America
Print Location: LSC Library MAINKF224.G76 K56 2012
Chronicles a little-known court case in which Thurgood Marshall successfully saved a black citrus worker from the electric chair after the worker was accused of raping a white woman with three other black men. In 1949, Florida's orange industry was booming with cheap Jim Crow labor. When a white seventeen-year-old Groveland girl cried rape, vicious Sheriff McCall was fast on the trail of four young blacks who dared to envision a future for themselves. Then the Ku Klux Klan rolled into town, burning homes and chasing hundreds of blacks into the swamps. So began the chain of events that would bring Thurgood Marshall, the man known as "Mr. Civil Rights," into the fray. Associates thought it was suicidal for him to wade into the "Florida Terror" at a time when he was irreplaceable to the burgeoning civil rights movement, but the lawyer would not shrink from the fight--not after the Klan had murdered one of Marshall's NAACP associates and Marshall had endured threats that he would be next. Drawing on a wealth of never-before-published material, including the FBI's unredacted Groveland case files, as well as the NAACP's Legal Defense Fund files, King shines new light on this remarkable civil rights crusader against a heroic backdrop.--From publisher description.
Heart of Sky, Heart of Earth
Print Location: LSC Library INSTRUCTIONAL MEDIAF1435.3.S7 H4 2012
The great cycle of the ancient Mayan calendar will end in 2012. How does the story end? Do the oceans collapse? Does the sky fall as the last tree is cut? The remote homelands of the present day Maya in Mexico and Guatemala present a perfect microcosm to show how unhindered globalization is already destroying the Earth and indigenous cultures. The stories and the cosmovision of six young Maya are juxtaposed with our shortsighted exploitation of the Earth.
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
D: World History
E-F: History of the Americas
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Websites
Google Life Unrestricted Resource
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Hyper History Unrestricted Resource
Over 2,000 files covering 3,000 years of world history. Offers timelines and maps with detailed information on people and events.
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and Reformers Unrestricted Resource
Biographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers.
Minnesota Historical Society Unrestricted Resource
Offical website of the Minnesota Historical Society contains links to its library’s resources, including the visual resources database, which contains over 180,000 photographs, artwork, posters, and fine art photographs from the Society’s collections.
Minnesota History Magazine Unrestricted Resource
Find full-text articles from the Minnesota History Magazine. There is a five year embargo, but you can search articles dating from 2005 back to 1910.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Reasearch and Education Institute Unrestricted Resource
In 2005, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute was created to provide an institutional home for a broad range of activities illuminating the Nobel Peace laureate’s life and the movements he inspired. The Institute’s endowment supports programs that serve as an enduring link between Stanford’s research resources and King’s dream of global peace with social justice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Video
Da Vinci and the code he lived by the unique vision and determination of the renaissance master
Print Location: CIRCULATING MEDIA N6923.L33 D28 2006
Examines and recounts the life of Leonardo da Vinci, using a combination of reenactment, commentary by scholars, and narration.
Occupation 101 voices of the silenced majority
Print Location: INSTRUCTIONAL MEDIA DS119.76 .O23 2008
Covers the current and historical root causes of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict; details life under Israeli military rule, the role of the United States in the conflict, and the major obstacles that stand in the way of a lasting and viable peace.
World War II: The War Chronicles
Print Location: LSC Library CIRCULATING MEDIAD743 .W6753 2011
World War II encompassed some of America's greatest triumphs and most bitter defeats. This comprehensive and intimate survey of this epic war features the greatest World War II documentaries, each packed with original archival footage, interviews with military experts and historians, and gripping reenactments from the War in Europe to the war in the Pacific.


Powered by SubjectsPlus