Lake Superior College

Health and Medicine
Health Databases
Access these databases from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.

Alt HealthWatch
Full text for more than 180 international (often peer-reviewed journals and reports) on alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Consumer Health Complete  |  View tutorial
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Access to consumer health information with nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines such as Fit PregnancyMen's HealthMuscle & FitnessPreventionShape, Vegetarian Times.
PubMed  |  View tutorials
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's premiere search system for health information with over 24 million citations.
General Health
Access eBooks and Streaming Media from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
 

Books in Erickson Library

The Gene: An Intimate History
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z (eBook)
Harvard Medial School Special Health Reports (eBook)
Move Your DNA: Restore Your Health Through Natural Movement
A Primer for Women's Health: Learn About Your Body in 52 Weeks
The Story of the Human Body: Evolution, Health, and Disease
Whole30: The 30-Day Guide to Total Health and Food Freedom
   

Streaming Media

[Off-campus access via authentication process.]
A Dangerous Future: Years of Living Dangerously (2014, 58:12)
Eat, Fast, and Live Longer (2012, 51:59)
Fighting Pandemics (2015, 44:12)
54321+8 Countdown to Your Health (2012, 24:39)
Influences on Health and Wellbeing: Lifestyle Factors (2013, 22:59)
Modern Life: How It Affects Our Health and Well-Being--Predict My Future: The Dunedin Longitudinal Study (2015, 44:29)
Pills, Powders, and Balms: The Cultural History of Medicines (2012, 51:24)
Science of Fasting (2011, 56:15)
Secrets of a Long Life (2013, 56:09)
   

Websites

CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Drugs.com (A-Z Drug List, Interactions Checker, Side Effects)
Healthfinder.gov (Health Topics A-Z) 
Mayo Clinic Patient Care and Health Information
Public Health Corps
UI Health Library (Symptoms, Diseases & Conditions, Medical Tests, Surgeries & Procedures, Self Care, etc.)
WebMD
Aging
Access eBooks and Streaming Media from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.

General
Age Becomes Us: Bodies and Gender in Time (eBook)
Age of Aging (streaming media, 2015, 44:14)
Age of Dignity: Preparing for the Elder Boom in a Changing America (eBook)
Aging Networks: A Guide to Programs and Services (eBook)
Aging, Society, and the Life Course (eBook)
Communication and Aging: Creative Approaches to Improving the Quality of Life (eBook)
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences (eBook)
Handbook of Minority Aging (eBook)
How to Stay Young: Episode 1 (streaming media, 2016, 48:36)
How to Stay Young: Episode 2 (streaming media, 2016, 49:40)
Move Your DNA: Restore Your Health Through Natural Movement (book)
Our Aging Bodies (eBook)
Psychology of Aging 101 (eBook)
We Know How This Ends: Living While Dying (book)
Websites:
Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging
Minnesota Board on Aging
National Council on Aging
National Institute on Aging (NIH)

Alzheimer's Disease | Dementia
Aging Networks: A Guide to Programs and Services (eBook)
Alzheimer's: Every Minute Counts (DVD)
Curing Alzheimer's (streaming media, 2016, 50:13)
Emotional Journey of the Alzheimer's Family (eBook)
Halting Dementia: Medical Revolution (2015, 48:58)
Handbook of Depression in Alzheimer's Disease (eBook)
Preventing Dementia: Medical Revolution (streaming media, 2015, 49:05)
Still Alice (DVD)
Truth About Dementia (streaming media, 2016, 50:34)
Understanding Brain Aging and Dementia: A Life Course Approach (eBook)
Website:
Alzheimer's Association

Parkinson's Disease
Optimal Health with Parkinson's Disease: A Guide to Integrating Lifestyle, Alternative, and Conventional Medicine (eBook)
Parkinson's Disease & Movement Disorders (eBook)
Websites:
American Parkinson Disease Association
National Parkinson Foundation
Drugs & Substances
Access eBooks and Streaming Media from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
 

Books in Erickson Library

Addiction: Why Can't They Just Stop?: New Knowledge, New Treatments, New Hope
Alcoholism
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction
Chasing the High: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Substance Abuse
Getting High: Marijuana Through the Ages
Loss of Innocence: A Family's Journey with Meth
Marijuana: The Unbiased Truth About the World's Most Popular Weed
Medicating Modern America: Prescription Drugs in History
The Methamphetamine Crisis: Strategies to Save Addicts, Families, and Communities
Methamphetamine Industry in America: Transnational Cartels and Local Entrepreneurs (eBook)
No Speed Limit: The Highs and Lows of Meth
Pot Politics: Marijuana and the Costs of Prohibition
Substance Abuse Treatment: Options, Challenges, and Effectiveness (eBook)
Thirteenth Step: Addiction in the Age of Brain Science (eBook)
 
   

Streaming Media

[Off-campus access via authentication process. Use StarID and password]
Bath Salts and Other Synthetic Drugs: Think About It (2014, 17:24)
Chasing Heroin (2016, 1:09:32)
Depressants, Hallucinogens and Stimulants (2015, 10:19)
Hooked on Painkillers (2015, 29:21)
Is Binge Drinking Really That Bad (2015, 50:17)
Louis Theroux: Drinking to Oblivion (2016, 59:20)
Opium: Addicted to Pleasure (2012, 48:02)
Oxyana (2014, 1:22:06)
Risky Drinking (2016, 1:25:01)
Sensitive Souls (2015, 58:35)
Tobacco: Addicted to Pleasure (2012, 49:24)
Truth About Alcohol (2016, 58:18)
Warning: This Drug May Kill You (2017, 59:10)
Whiskey: Addicted to Pleasure (2012, 48:09)
   

Websites

NIAAA (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism)
NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse)
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
Eating Disorders
Access eBooks and Streaming Media from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
 


 

Books in Erickson Library

Anorexia Nervosa: Symptoms, Treatment, and Neurobiology (eBook)
Eating Disorders in Childhood and Adolescence
Gaining: The Truth About Life After Eating Disorders
Helping Your Hungry Heart: Recovering from Your Eating Disorder
Lying in Weight: The Hidden Epidemic of Eating Disorders in Adult Women
Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters: The Frightening New Normalcy of Hating Your Body
Self-help Approaches for Obesity and Eating Disorders
Treatment and Recovery of Eating Disorders (eBook)
 
   

Streaming Media

[Off-campus access via authentication process.]
FEMMEfille (2015, 1:20:40)
Nutrition and Eating Disorders (2011, 24:04)
Recovering Anorexia Nervosa and Bulimia Nervosa (2012, 27:13)
   

Websites

BEDA (Binge Eating Disorder Association)
The Emily Program (UMN)
NEDA (National Eating Disorders Association)
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
R-RZ: Health and Medicine
Related Guides
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
 
Learning Express Library
Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus