Lake Superior College

Language Learning Tools
English as a Second Language Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
A starting point for ESL/EFL learners who want to study English online.

Online Vocabulary Game Database Unrestricted Resource
Vocabulary.co.il is a leading vocabulary website worldwide with the best flash online word games. The vocabulary games include an online word search, an online crossword puzzle, and hangman online (our version is called HangMouse).

Here's a link to our library catalog! English for New Americans
Grammar and Usage
Breaking News English Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Lesson plans teach ESL by drawing inspiration from recent news and global affairs. Packed with information about word usage, grammar, and more.

Dave's ESL Cafe on the Web Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
An online meeting place for teachers and students. Contains ESL Quiz Center and ESL Help Center (both for students), including student forums.
Reference
Corpus of Contemporary American English Unrestricted Resource
Contains more than 450 million words of text and is equally divided amount spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.

Dictionary.com Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Online dictionary with pronunciations, examples, and word origins.

Longman Vocabulary Website Unrestricted Resource
Includes word parts, dictionary exercises, using context clues, synonyms, antonyms, homonyms, academic vocabulary, and more.

Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English

Newbury House Online Dictionary Unrestricted Resource
Online dictionary providing simple and clear definitions, sample sentences, idioms, and a wide arrary of cultural facts and figures.
Writing
Purdue OWL ESL Unrestricted Resource
Purdue's OWL offers resources for students and instructors in grammar and mechanics, writing for business audiences, plagiarism and more.

Online Grammar Handbook Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
21 chapters about college writing and research with videos, literature, arguments, and sample papers.
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Related Guides
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus