Lake Superior College

English
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
InfoTrac's largest index and full text collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and news service articles from all areas of academic and general interest research. Use this database for research in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and current events.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues.
Books and eBooks
EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search and view the full text of ebooks.
Handbook of Literary Terms
Print Location: LSC Library REFERENCEPN44.5 .K46 2013 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Featuring an engaging and accessible writing style, this supplemental reference manual for the introductory student has over 400 entries and serves to demystify literature and the terms, techniques, and analysis tools that literary scholars use.
Harbrace Essentials
Print Location: LSC Library MAINPN147 .G54 2013 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ideal for reference in the classroom or office, this brief and easy-to-navigate handbook puts clear and concise grammar, style, mechanics, and punctuation information, as well as strategies for writing paragraphs and essays, conducting research, and documenting sources at your fingertips.
Oxford Companion to English Literature
Print Location: LSC Library Main, PR19 .O94 1998 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature - from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.
Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, the project's founder, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire ebooks and related technologies today.
Websites
2009 Outstanding Books for the College Bound and Lifelong Learners Unrestricted Resource
A collection of ALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.
Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read Unrestricted Resource
Banned Books Week (BBW) is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment. Held during the last week of September, Banned Books Week highlights the benefits of free and open access to information while drawing attention to the harms of censorship by spotlighting actual or attempted bannings of books across the United States.
Building a Better Vocabulary Unrestricted Resource
A website to build vocabulary for every level on learning English.
Developing an Outline Unrestricted Resource
Developed by Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab), this website describes why outlines are useful, what types of outlines exist, suggestions for developing effective outlines, and how outlines can be used as an invention strategy for writing.
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and Reformers Unrestricted Resource
Biographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers.
Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
Over 2.5 million free titles. Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
Neil Gaiman Unrestricted Resource
Website of bestselling author Neil Gaiman. He is listed in the Dictionary of Literary Biography as one of the top ten living post-modern writers, and is a prolific creator of works of prose, poetry, film, journalism, comics, song lyrics, and drama. Born in Britain, he now lives in Minnesota
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Openlibrary Unrestricted Resource
Over 1,000,000 free ebook titles available.
Poetry Foundation Unrestricted Resource
The Poetry Foundation is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It works to discover and raise poetry to a more visible and influential position in American culture.
Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
Elements of Writing Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This volume concentrates on successful storytelling. In a talk called “Scene, Summary, Silence,” writer/educator Al Young tells how to engage readers and keep a story moving by creating believable narrative and maintaining a balance between scene and summary. A panel discussion moderated by Mark Childress follows, in which authors Olga Carlisle, James Brown, Lynn Freed, and Al Young examine the influence of their birthplaces on their work. With honesty and humor they answer questions including Do you think you’d be a writer if you came from another place in the world? and What impact did leaving your birthplaces have on your writing?
Library Hours & Contact Information
Fall and Spring Semester
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm

Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
PE: English Language
PJ-PZ: Literature
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
News Databases
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
NewsBank Restricted Resource
Newsbank delivers U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes access to current and archived articles of the Duluth News-Tribune.
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.
Citation Help
EasyBib Unrestricted Resource
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus