Lake Superior College

Cross Cultural Health
Cultural Group Guides
African American Groups
African American Health (MedlinePlus)

American Indian / Indigenous Groups
American Indian Health (NLM)
Arctic Health (NLM)
Native American Health (MedlinePlus)
CultureCard: A Guide to Build Cultural Awareness: American Indian and Alaska Native

Asian / Pacific Islander Groups
Asian American Health (MedlinePlus)

GLBTQ Groups
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Health (Medline Plus)

Hispanic / Latino Groups
Hispanic American Health (MedlinePlus)
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health (MedlinePlus)

Religious / Spiritual Groups
Health Care in Islamic History and Experience (EthnoMed)
Health Care Providers' Handbook on Hindu Patients (Queensland Health)
Health Care Providers' Handbook on Muslim Patients (Queensland Health)
Health Care Providers' Handbook on Sikh Patients (Queensland Health)
Meeting Jewish and Muslim Patients' Dietary Needs (Minority Nurse)

General
Cultural Group Guides (Dimensions of Culture)
Communication and Language

Health Information in Multiple Languages (Medline)

Health Information Translations
Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.

Think Cultural Health: Guide to Providing Effective Communication and Language Assistance Services
The Guide will help you and your organization provide effective communication and language assistance services to culturally and linguistically diverse individuals receiving care and services from your organization. Register to access the Guide.

Websites

Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Handbooks and Manuals
Handbook of Patients' Spiritual and Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals (HealthCare Chaplaincy, 2013)
Includes chapters on Western and Eastern religions as well as Baha'i, Rastafarian, Santeria, Voodoo, and Wicca; also chapters on major American cultures, African, Caribbean, Middle Eastern/Northern African, East Indian, East Asian, and Euro-Asian cultures.

A Provider's Handbook on Culturally Competent Care: Women's Health (Kaiser Permanente, 2009)
Includes chapters on demographics, health beliefs and patterns of care, and lesbian health.

Diversity Toolkit (Cleveland Clinic)
Includes sections on different patient groups, considerations before providing care, meals, hospital attire, communication, reituals, and end-of-life care.


Powered by SubjectsPlus