Lake Superior College

College Composition II
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
InfoTrac's largest index and full text collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and news service articles from all areas of academic and general interest research. Use this database for research in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and current events.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues.

A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
News Databases
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Minneapolis Tribune Restricted Resource
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
Websites
Evaluating Websites Unrestricted Resource
Lesley University's guide to evaluating websites includes a list of criteria, sample sites and suggestions to help you "sort out the gems from the junk" on the Internet.
Tutorials
Academic Search Premier Interactive Tutorial Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
In this tutorial, you will learn how to find full-text articles in Academic Search Premier (ASP) while discovering a variety of search techniques and features to refine your results.

Newsbank Database Online Tutorials Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
A collection of short video tutorials on how to access and navigate the online archives from Newsbank.

EBSCO Video Tutorial: Basic searching for Academic Libraries Unrestricted Resource
A video tutorial on searching in Academic Libraries.
Citation Assistance
EasyBib Unrestricted Resource
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.

How to prepare an annotated bibliography Unrestricted Resource
Cornell University "annotated bibliography" website provides definitions and examples.

Diana Hacker Citation Website Unrestricted Resource
The information on this site is also available in a print book, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fifth Edition, by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus