Lake Superior College

Career
Minnesota Resources
CAREERwise Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota State website for careers, education, jobs, and business resources.
MN Employment and Economic Development Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota State's Department of Employment and Economic Development site.
MinnesotaWorks Unrestricted Resource
This is an internet-based self-service system where job seekers can post their resume and employers can post ads.
NorthForce Unrestricted Resource
NORTHFORCE is a local initiative aimed at connecting talent with opportunities in northeast Minnesota and northwest Wisconsin.
eFolio Minnesota Unrestricted Resource
A free Web-based portfolio for residents of Minnesota designed to help you create a living showcase of your education, career, and personal achievements.

 
Books and eBooks

Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People
Print Location: CAREER HF5381 .E485 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The revised third edition of the popular career guide for offbeat individuals seeking work that suits their unique skills, talents, and passions.

Knock 'em dead cover letters : cover letters and strategies to get the job you want
Print Location: CAREER HF5383 .Y378 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Knock 'em dead resumes : a killer resume gets more job interviews!
Print Location: CAREER HF5383 .Y38 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Strengths Finder 2.0
Print Location: HD38.2 .R38 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


What Color is Your Parachute?: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers
Print Location: LSC Library CareerHF5383 .B56 2013
Has helped millions discover their unique gifts, skills, and interests and land a job--even in hard times.
 
Websites
CareerOneStop Unrestricted Resource
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this excellent resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities.
Dice.com Unrestricted Resource
Dice is the #1 technology job board.
Indeed Unrestricted Resource
Search millions of jobs from thousands of job boards, newspapers, classifieds and company websites
Interview Stream Unrestricted Resource
Online interactive Mock Interview Site allows LSC students to practice and review interviewing skills.
Job Hunters Bible Unrestricted Resource
Site developed by author Dick Bolles who wrote the increaslingly popular book “What Color is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers.”
Jobs HQ Unrestricted Resource
Search hundreds of local jobs - including newspaper listings from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.
Jobs.net Unrestricted Resource
Job search and career advice website that allows you to search by locations, including Duluth.
Monster Unrestricted Resource
For job-seekers and those who want career planning tips.
O*Net Unrestricted Resource
A website of career exploration and job analysis.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Workplace Solutions (NIOSH, CDC) Unrestricted Resource
The NIOSH "Workplace Solutions" series offers easy-to-understand, easy-to-access, and easy-to-use recommendations that turn the results of NIOSH research into occupational safety and health practice.
Business Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
News Databases
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas across the U.S. Updated daily.
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video



Powered by SubjectsPlus