Lake Superior College

Business
Business Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
InfoTrac's largest index and full text collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and news service articles from all areas of academic and general interest research. Use this database for research in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and current events.
 
News Databases
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for the Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas across the U.S. Updated daily.
Books and eBooks
Making It All Work: Winning at the Game of Work and the Business of Life
Print Location: LSC Library MAINHD69.T54 A45 2009
Makes recommendations for altering one's perspectives in order to see life as a game that can be won, offering suggestions for handling information overload, achieving focus, and trusting oneself while making decisions.
The ecology of commerce : a declaration of sustainability
Print Location: MAIN HD60 .H393 2010
Hawken proposes a culture of business in which the real world, the natural world, is allowed to flourish as well, and in which the planet's needs are addressed. Wall Street may not be ready for Hawken's provocative brand of environmental awareness, but this fine book is full of captivating ideas.
The green workplace : sustainable strategies that benefit employees, the environment, and the bottom line
Print Location: MAIN HD30.255 .S77 2009
As 21st century companies realize they'll need to be green to compete, sustainable ideas are spreading like wildfire throughout all fields of modern business. In this book, the author, an expert on sustainable workplace design and strategy, shows companies on the cusp of radically transforming their practices how to bring together diverse teams and establish new organizational governance for creative problem solving in greening their workplace. Her hands on green strategies are based on concrete and cost effective changes such as: working from home, ways to cut commuting costs, video conferencing to cut down on travel, increasing access to natural light to save energy, and more. She also explains how managers can implement these changes smoothly and efficiently. In solving key problems, she shows companies how a green business reduces costs, increases productivity, improves recruiting and retention, and increases shareholder value, in addition to benefiting the environment.
Websites
CNN Money Unrestricted Resource
CNN's website covering business articles.
Conference Board Unrestricted Resource
Where can you find a greenhouse gas report and tools on consumer spending trends all in one place? Try the Conference Board. The Conference Board is an independent membership organization that "publishes information and analysis, makes economics-based forecasts and assesses trends, and facilitates learning by creating dynamic communities of interest."
Economist Unrestricted Resource
Provides up-to-date information on world business and current affairs as well as authoritative insight on international news, world politics, cultural trends, business, finance and technology.
International Trade Administration Unrestricted Resource
The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements.  ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.  ITA supports President Obama’s recovery agenda and the National Export Initiative to sustain economic growth and support American jobs.
Navarro College: Small Business Development Center Unrestricted Resource
The Navarro College Small Business Development Center (SBDC) delivers high quality business consulting services and training for startup and existing businesses in Ellis, Freestone, Limestone and Navarro counties. Whether you want to start a business, grow a business or just make your existing business more profitable, our consulting services and training classes will provide you with the information, resources and answers you need to help your small business succeed.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development Unrestricted Resource
The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. We measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment. We analyse and compare data to predict future trends. We set international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.
Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers Unrestricted Resource
Updated every three years with annual progress reports which describe each country's macroeconomic, structural and social policies and programs. Used to promote broad-based growth and reduce poverty worldwide.
U.S. Department of Commerce Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Department of Commerce promotes job creation, economic growth, sustainable development and improved standards of living for all Americans by working in partnership with businesses, universities, communities and our nation’s workers. The department touches the daily lives of the American people in many ways, with a wide range of responsibilities in the areas of trade, economic development, technology, entrepreneurship and business development, environmental stewardship, and statistical research and analysis.
 
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
 
Related Guides
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
HB: Economic Theory
HC: Economic History and Conditions
HF: Commerce
HG: Finance
K7340-7512: Commerical Law
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search A to Z Index by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
Video
Shift Change
Print Location: LSC Library INSTRUCTIONAL MEDIAHD5650 .S55 2013
Visits the 50-year-old network of cooperative businesses in Mondragon, Spain, and thriving examples of such businesses in U.S. The film shares on-the-ground experiences, lessons, and observations from the worker-owners on the front lines of the new economy.
Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus