Lake Superior College

Book Lovers Resources
Book Clubs
LitLovers Unrestricted Resource
An online community dedicated to book clubs. Includes reading guides and discussion tips for many popular titles.

Social Networking Sites
Library Thing Unrestricted Resource
This popular website lets users catalog their personal libraries, discover new books, find people with similar reading interests, discuss books, and more. Membership is free for a library of up to 200 books, and they offer annual memberships as well as a lifetime membership for a mere $25. A paying member can have an unlimited number of books in their library and full functionality of the site.

Good Reads Unrestricted Resource
Another simple social networking site. Share book recommendations with old friends and meet new ones along the way.

Shelfari Unrestricted Resource
Create a virtual shelf to share with friends, get recommendations, and social network with other book lovers.
Reading Recommendation Sites
BookBrowse Unrestricted Resource
Browse the best and ignore the rest is the motto of this recommended reading site. Membership required for advanced features.

What Should I Read Next? Unrestricted Resource
Enter a favorite title or author and receive suggestions on similar titles.

Whichbook? Unrestricted Resource
Use this resource to help you decide what to read next. The site features a number of slider bars like “happy <-> sad” and “funny <-> serious.” Based on where you place the slider for each of these ranges will give you a list of books that fulfill that criteria.

American Library Association Recommended Reading Lists Unrestricted Resource
A collection of ALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.
eBooks
ebooks Minnesota Unrestricted Resource
Ebooks Minnesota is an online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.   

Free-ebooks Unrestricted Resource
Free-ebooks.net is an online source for free ebook downloads, ebook resources and ebook authors.

ManyBooks Unrestricted Resource
There are more than 29,000 eBooks available here and they're all free!

Rare Book Room Unrestricted Resource
Examine and read some of the world's greatest books from some of the world's greatest libraries. Over the last decade, a company called "Octavo" digitally photographed over 400 books at very high resolution. They range in their variety of topics and rarity. The books are presented so that the viewer can examine all the pages in medium to medium-high resolution. Some highlights include works of Shakespeare, Ben Franklin and Galileo.

eBook Searcher Unrestricted Resource
A search engine app designed specifically for locating over 8 million free ebooks. Download for free on iOS and Android.

Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, the project's founder, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire ebooks and related technologies today.
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Librarians are available at the Help Desk
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Related Guides
Audiobooks
LibriVox Unrestricted Resource
LibriVox provides several options for listening to free audiobooks from the public domain.
Library Graphics
Card Catalog Generator Unrestricted Resource
Create your own personalized catalog cards.

ALA Read Poster Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Create your own READ posters based on ALA's popular Celebrity READ posters.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files


Powered by SubjectsPlus