Lake Superior College

Aviation
Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
General Science Collection with 1,707,035 articles from 1980 through 2010.
ProQuest Global Newstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text newspaper databases containing the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, and hundreds of other newspapers.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Books and eBooks

Access eBooks from off-campus by using your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
Titles marked with an * are available as a print copy in the library.


General
Cabin Pressure: African American Pilots, Flight Attendants, and Emotional Labor
Flights of Imagination: Aviation, Landscape, and Design
Prairie Sky: A Pilot's Reflections on Flying and the Grace of Altitude
Sustainable Aviation Futures
Weekend Pilots: Technology, Masculinity, and Private Aviation in Postwar America

Economics, Laws, and Policies
Denying Flight: Strategic Options for Employing No-Fly Zones
Greenhouse Gas Emissions from International Aviation: Legal and Policy Challenges
Labor Relations in the Aviation and Aerospace Industries
Sustainable Aviation Futures

History
Air Mobility: A Brief History of the American Experience
Alaska's Skyboys: Cowboy Pilots and the Myth of the Last Frontier
The Aviators: Eddie Rickenbacker, Jimmy Doolittle, Charles Lindbergh, and the Epic Age of Flight*
Empire of the Air: Aviation and The American Ascendancy
Tuskegee Airman: The Biography of Charles E. McGee: Air Force Fighter Combat Record Holder
Wright Company: From Invention to Industry
X-15 Rocket Plane: Flying the First Wings into Space

Military
Air Commanders
Airforce Way of War: U.S. Tactics and Training After Vietnam
British Naval Aviation: The First 100 Years
Century of Air Warfare with Nine (IX) Squadron, RAF: Still Going Strong
Lavi: The United States, Israel, and a Controversial Fighter Jet
Luftwaffe: A History
Hero of the Angry Sky: The World War I Diary and Letters of David S. Ingalls, America's First Naval Ace
Tomorrow's Air Force: Tracing the Past, Shaping the Future
Whitey: The Story of Rear Admiral E. L. Feightner, a Navy Fighter Ace

Security and Safety
Aircrew Security: A Practical Guide
Air Transport Safety: An Introduction
Aviation Security Considerations: Expedited Passenger Screening and Modification of Prohibited Items List
Aviation Security: After Four Decades, It's Time for a Fundamental Review
Behavior Detection Activities to Identify Aviation Security Threats: Assessments
Engineering Aviation Security Environments--Reduction of False Alarms in Computed Tomography-Based Screening of Checked Baggage
Fatigue in Aviation: A Guide to Staying Awake at the Stick
Practical Aviation Security: Predicting and Preventing Future Threats
Safety Culture: Building and Sustaining a Cultural Change in Aviation and Healthcare
Wildlife in Airport Environments: Preventing Animal-Aircraft Collisions Through Science-Based Management

Systems, Technology, and Design
Aerospace Sensors
Building Safe Systems in Aviation: A CRM Developer's Handbook
General Aviation Aircraft Design: Applied Methods and Procedures
Review of the Next Generation Air Transportation System: Implications and Importance of System Architecture

Streaming Video
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial


Selected Videos

Mayday (2013, 41:36)
Pioneers of Aviation: Time to Remember (2011, 29:08)
Silver Wings, Flying Dreams: The Complete Story of the Women Airforce Service Pilots (2015, 54:41)
Wilbur and Orville: Dreams of Flying (1998, 45:39)
 
Library Hours & Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912

Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
HE9761-9990: Air transportation and Airlines
TL500-4050: Aeronautics and Astronautics
Professional Organizations
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).


Powered by SubjectsPlus