Lake Superior College

Open Education Resources
Search Open Education Resources
  • Open Textbook Library Unrestricted Resource
    Catalog of free, peer-reviewed and openly-licensed textbooks developed by the University of Minnesota and collaborating partners.
  • ebooks Minnesota Unrestricted Resource
    Ebooks Minnesota is an online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.   
  • Minnesota OER Commons Unrestricted Resource
    Tools and resources for educators and subject matter experts in Minnesota to collaboratively evaluate, share, and develop Open Educational Resources for public education.  
  • College Open Textbooks Unrestricted Resource
    The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource
    HathiTrust, a partnership of academic & research institutions, offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. 
  • Lumen Learning Unrestricted Resource
    Co-founded by open-education visionary Dr. David Wiley and education-technology strategist Kim Thanos, Lumen Learning is dedicated to facilitating broad, successful adoption of OER.   
  • Merlot: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching Unrestricted Resource
    Merlot is a collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. 
  • OER Commons Unrestricted Resource
    OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore, search and/or build open education resources through this network of educators. 
  • Open Stax Unrestricted Resource
    OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University. They currently have more than 20 openly licensed college textbooks.
  • OPEN SUNY Unrestricted Resource
    Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
  • Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, the project's founder, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire ebooks and related technologies today.
  • Saylor Academy Unrestricted Resource
    Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.  
  • eBook Searcher Unrestricted Resource
    A search engine app designed specifically for locating over 8 million free ebooks. Download for free on iOS and Android.
Self - Publishing
  • Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project Unrestricted Resource
    The Minnesota Library Publishing Project (MLPP) provides online publishing tools and training information to support indepedent authors and small publishers. The MLPP is a pilot project coordinated by Minitex and Minnesota's academic and public libraries. 
  • Pressbooks Unrestricted Resource
    Minnesota Publishing Project platform available to all residents; allows users to easily create professional print and ebook editions of their books. 
  • Creative Commons Unrestricted Resource
    Newer non-profit copyright licensing system has helped online users develop and access a pool of content that can be copied, distributed, edited, remixed, and built upon, all within the boundaries of copyright law.
  • Modifying an Open Textbook: What You Need to Know Unrestricted Resource
Digital Repositories
Search these sites for robust collection of course content:
Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource
Many universities, public libraries and other public organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society's digitized cultural heritage.
 
Library Hours & Contact Information
Monday -Thursday: 7:30am-7:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-4:00pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Additional Resources
OER Mythbusting Unrestricted Resource
Published by the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, OER Mythbusting addresses the top seven myths about OER in North American higher education.
OER Research ToolKit Unrestricted Resource
Resources developed by the Open Education Group (OEG) based at Brigham Young University.
Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN) Unrestricted Resource
OPEN (Open Professionals Education Network) provides free support and technical assistance to all Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College & Career Training grantees with information and professional development. 
Open Access Textbooks Unrestricted Resource
Site from State of Florida Open Access Grant Project includes details on their three-year initiative to explore and adopt open education resources. 
School of Open Unrestricted Resource
Website for global community of volunteers providing free online courses and training on "openness" in a digital world. 
Open Textbook Accessibility Unrestricted Resource
The goal of the Accessibility Toolkit is to provide the resources needed so that each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, teaching assistant, etc. has the opportunity to create a truly open and accessible textbook. 


Powered by SubjectsPlus